Raj
3 min readMay 7, 2024

--

Raj & Shine, birthday girl!

That was the first thing my friend texted me on the morning of my birthday last year. It was an inside joke. Then, I got a surprise cake with 'Raj & Shine' written on it, and it easily became one of my favourite phrases. That’s my second best cake yet. My first was a surprise cake my mom got for me in 2022, that said 'Happy Birthday, my Ada.’ Is it easy to be the Ada of the house? Of course not. Put some respect on my name. 😌

Today, I had ‘really big plans’ to stay at home, finish the little work I had, and visit my friend in the evening, but my day took a very interesting turn.

I used to laugh at the whole situation of a saxophonist playing birthday songs for somebody. Alas, I am now one of those people. 😂 Why did I come out of my room to see people I know and love, AND a saxophonist in my parlour? 😂 My first reaction was, “ahn ahn,” because true true, wetin dey happen? I just kept laughing because what else could I do? My mom took this surprise thing to another level this year. She really made plans with my best friends and some of my close friends. Well, I was completely surprised. I’ve never felt so surprised, amused, touched, and cringed out at the same time. 😭 They even made me ‘dance’ because I don’t actually know what I was doing. Nice one, mother. 😂

I had so much fun. I have so many pictures and videos I’m yet to watch and laugh at from today. It has been a while since I last had these friends in one place, and it was so cute that it was my birthday that brought everyone together to just eat and chill. 🥹

Also, I have a surprise.

So, as I wrote my goals for the year in December 2023, one of the things on my list was to write a book of short stories, to be released on my birthday. I was so confident that I could finish wayy before my birthday, because January to May is a long time, right? Wrong! Coming up with stories was so hard when I actually tried to. The story ideas ended up popping in my head at the most random moments. I wanted to see how many stories I could write, and I ended up with five. I’m not such a long story writer, but I’m really proud of myself because these stories are longer than what I’d typically write.

So, introducing, Wonders Have Finally Ended.

*applause*

It’s free, and you can get it here. It’ll totally make my day if I get feedback too. You can send it to ceerajay@gmail.com. Finallyy, don’t forget to leave a tip on your way out. 🤝🏼

Sneak peek: I completed this story in the book. 🫣

Anyways, today (May 7) is still my birthday. Happy birthday to me. 🤭

--

--